***EU Customers Please Note: Items are shipped DELIVERED DUTY UNPAID (DDU). Click for more info ***

OA1030: Emmerich Kálmán Symphonic Poems; Saturnalia, Endre és Johanna, & more


Emmerich Kálmán  (1882 ‒ 1953)


1.  Overture to Ein Herbstmanöver (1909)

2.  Saturnalia (Symphonic Scherzo for Large Orchestra) (1904)

3.  Endre és Johanna (Symphonic Poem for Large Orchestra) (1906)


Charles Kalman  (1929 ‒ 2015)

4.  La Parisienne (waltz)

Emmerich Kálmán


5.  Gräfin Mariza:  “Fein könnt’ auf der Welt es sein” (1924)

            Scott Rumble, tenor

6.  Die Csárdásfürstin:  “Heia, heia, in den Bergen ist mein Heimatland” (1915)

            Elena Razlog, soprano

            UBC Opera Ensemble: Nancy Hermiston, director

Jonathan Girard

University of British Columbia Symphony Orchestra

Hungarian-born Emmerich Kálmán is today the world’s most performed operetta composer.  Yet, as with so many operetta composers, he began his career aspiring toward a future in “serious” music.  This CD features world-premiere recordings of two symphonic poems that he penned before embarking on his nearly half-century operetta journey.  The CD also features the rip-roaring overture to his first operetta, two arias from his most popular operettas, and a delightful waltz from his composer/son Charles.