***EU Customers Please Note: Items are shipped DELIVERED DUTY UNPAID (DDU). Click for more info ***

OA1022: Fortune Teller (2 CDs)


by Victor Herbert

This is the world-premiere recording of the complete score and includes five songs that Herbert wrote for the show but which did not appear in the 1898 Broadway opening. Music Director Adam Aceto restored the original orchestrations and conducts a full orchestra and 55-person chorus. This comic opera contains two of the most recognizable gypsy songs in American musical theatre: “Romany life” and “Gypsy love song.”
CD 1 Contents
1 Overture
2 Introduction and Opening Chorus
3 Entrance of the Count
4 Always Do As People Say You Should
5 Chorus of Hussars / Hungaria’s Hussars
6 The Story of the Twins
7 Ho! Ye Townsmen
8 Entrance of the Gypsies
9 Csardas: Romany Life  
Audio Sample
10 Finale

CD 2 Contents
1 Opening Chorus
2 Signor Mons. Muldoni
3 The Serenades of All Nations
4 Gypsy Love Song
5 Champagne Song
6 Only in the Play
7 Finale   
Audio Sample
8 Opening Chorus
9 Gypsy Jan
10 Oh I Sing the Praise of the Sword   Audio Sample
11 The Lily and the Nightingale   Audio Sample
12 You Must Not Believe It
13 The Power of the Human Eye
14 The Bold Dragoon
15 Finale
2-CD set        8-page booklet enclosed        Total playing time:  2 hr. 23 min.