***EU Customers Please Note: Items are shipped DELIVERED DUTY UNPAID (DDU). Click for more info ***

OA1002: Kálmán Conducts Kálmán


The Music of Emmerich Kálmán:  Volume 2
Complete Radio Broadcast of May 5, 1940
In 1940, soon after arriving in America, Emmerich Kálmán was invited to conduct the NBC Concert Orchestra in a program of his own operetta music.  The concert features vocal selections by Gitta Alpar and Felix Knight as well as orchestral medleys from several of the composer’s shows.

Composer and Conductor:  Emmerich Kálmán
Vocal Soloists:  Gitta Alpár and Felix Knight

CD Contents
1. Introduction   

2. Overture   Miss Springtime 

3. Say Yes, Sweetheart, Say Yes Countess Maritza 
        Alpár, Knight

4. Intermezzo The Yankee Princess   

5. Dear Eyes That Haunt Me The Circus Princess    Audio Sample

6. Love Has Wings Sari    Audio Sample
        Alpár, Knight

7. Love’s Own Sweet Song Sari 
        Alpár, Knight

8. Grand Palotás de la Reine The Devil's Rider  

9. Why Is It All A Dream?   

10. You Are The One Empress Josephine 
        Alpár, Knight

11. Orchestral Medley The Riviera Girl   

12. Play Gypsies, Dance Gypsies Countess Maritza       

13. Bonus Track:  Radio Interview with Emmerich Kálmán

Lyrics:  3, 5, 12--Harry B. Smith; 6, 7—C. C. S. Cushing and E. P. Heath; 9—original German by Alfred Grünwald; 10--original German by Paul Knepler and Géza Herczeg.

12-page booklet enclosed                            Total playing time:  1 hr 2 min